

Maggie's Civics Corner

LESSON 17

Constitution Close-Up: The Constitution says the United States Government must have three branches: Legislative, Executive, and Judicial. Each branch has its own responsibilities, but sometimes they work together to check each other's work. Let's take a look at each one!

Today's lesson is about the Executive Branch: Article II of the Constitution establishes the executive branch, which

includes the President, Vice President, and Cabinet.

The President: The President is both the Leader of our Government and Commander of our military. He or she has several jobs: enforce federal law; choose certain Government leaders and judges; sign treaties with other countries; and either sign or veto laws from Congress. To become President, you must be 35 years old, born in the United States, and have lived in the United States for at least 14 years. Presidents can serve for a maximum of 8 years.

Cabinet: The Cabinet includes the Vice President and 15 department leaders. The executive departments oversee things like agriculture, education, housing, labor, transportation, and more.

Sticky Situation: Imagine you're on a team with one Captain at a time. Your team has two options – either choose one Captain for the entire year or change the Captain every month so everyone on the team gets a turn. Which of these would you choose and why? What are the pros and cons of limiting a President to 8 years in office?

Activity: The President gets to live in the White House in Washington, D.C. and has their own office called the Oval Office. How would you decorate the Oval Office if you became President? Mine would have pictures of dog bones on the walls! Draw a picture of your Oval Office.

Civic Resources: For more details about the Executive Branch, see: https://www.whitehouse.gov/about-the-white-house/the-executive-branch/. For a video on the Executive Branch, check out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWR2p9j9hWo.